IMS Weather

°F | °C
invalid location provided

Open Wheel Shootout postponed to May 30

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa – A lightning strike at the Buchanan County Fairgrounds has forced the postponement of the season opening Open Wheel Shootout at Independence Motor Speedway. Originally scheduled for Friday, April 18, the event has been pushed back to Friday, May 30.

“It affected a lot of stuff,” stated promoter Todd Summers of the lightning strike, which occurred late last week. “It hit the main power system and blew the door off the control panel.”


Welcome to Independence Motor Speedway!

Welcome to the online home of Fast Family Fun! At Independence Motor Speedway, we boast a tradition of speed, sportsmanship and some of the best dirt track drivers to get behind the wheel. We look to build on our rich history in 2014 as we are proud to continue our partnership with IMCA. Independence Motor Speedway remains the longest-running IMCA sanctioned track in the country as we enter our 32nd consecutive season as a sanctioned facility. IMCA sanctioned Late Models, Modifieds, Stock Cars, Northern SportMods and Hobby Stocks will return to do weekly battle this season.

A number of special events are also in store for 2014, including the return of the World of Outlaws Late Model Series, the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models, the XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour and the Sprint Invaders Series.

Please browse the site for track information, schedules and much more!

IMCA Late Models
IMCA Modifieds
IMCA Stock Cars
IMCA SportMods
IMCA Hobby Stocks

General: $10
Senior (62+) and Student (age 12-17): $8
Kids ages 11 and under FREE (if accompanied by paid adult)
Pit Pass: $25

Gates Open: 4:00
Hot Laps: 6:00
Racing: Following Hot Laps

Refer to Events Schedule